Generally How I Feel About Life and Other Things

the next time you are craving a body
do not tell me that you miss me
because i am more than my bones and my muscles
my fat and my skin
i am more than my eyes or the air that fills my lungs

i am every word ive ever read
all the characters stuck in my mind that may never
see their own story
i am the songs i cannot help but scream at
the ones that make me cry
i am the hundreds of books stacked in my bedroom
i am nothing like them at all

when you look at me you see a person
it took me years to understand i
am a constellation
a whole universe
i am my parents battles
i am poverty and richness
the last time i was afraid of the dark
i felt like a child
and i was somewhat at peace with being afraid

i am an alarm clock and a groan
not being able to leave a bed without
bribing myself into reality
i am water and energy and
all the ideas that run through my head on a daily basis
i am not just a body
i am not just a soul
i am everything
and sometimes i am nothing

so the next time you crave a body
dont you dare
even look at me

3 thoughts on “Generally How I Feel About Life and Other Things

Leave a Reply

