This Is Desperation

if you wanted to love me
i wouldnt say no
i would whisper yes into every crevice of your being
i would hold you tightly
and choose to let you go
because your feet will lead you to all the places you need to go
and i want them to lead you back to me

if you wanted to love me
i wouldnt say no
i would lend you all my tears when you needed to cry
i would rub your back when you were sick and i would
hold your hand just long enough for you to feel like you could never be alone

if you wanted to love me
i wouldnt say no
instead i would watch my own world change around me
the tones of solitary sadness would no longer ring in my ears
and i wouldnt have to explain
all the reasons why
im better off alone

if you wanted to love me
i wouldnt say no
i would memorize every part of you and forget it all
just so that i could learn you again from the beginning
i would hope that your change would be my change
i would hope we would never grow apart

if you wanted to love me
i wouldnt say no
i would watch your path collide with mine
i would sigh with happiness because that is what happy people do
they exhale because their bodies are so full with their feeling
they are not empty

if you wanted to love me
i could never say no
because ive loved you for longer than i have loved myself
it is dangerous water i swim in
but i would never leave
if you wanted to love me
i would tell you i love you too

4 thoughts on “This Is Desperation

Leave a Reply

