Fake

invalidate my sadness because it makes yourself feel better
forget the dying soul and the graying eyes
and how bright things look less bright
and the night calls me better than anything else does
i put on a smile so
how i dare i be sad
i have food and a job and a family that loves me
how insulting to be sad
i get good grades and am well fed
what a brat i must be because my sadness makes me bitter
it gives me headaches
it pushes me to be unable to eat
it makes me aware of every movement
but it shouldnt be real
maybe i shouldnt be either

One thought on “Fake

Leave a Reply

