Inconsequential

this was never for you
or about you
the tears that glued themselves to my eyelashes
as i fought the stars for sleep
and nothing lifted the weight on my chest
because the weight reminded me i was still alive
and i owed it to myself to
take another breathe
the day never calms my breathing
in
and out like the sea but instead
it is in and out and waiting
wondering
if it was my last
until i breathe in again
this was never for you
so dont ask me why i had to tell you
that nothingness screams at me and i do
not scream back
why yell at the things you know are true
that i am but a mixture of
systematically placed pieces
that do not quiet fit
this was never for you
because someone told you
that i loved you
that you could either break me
or cure me
and i just needed to tell you
that you really
cannot do either

Leave a Reply

