Nothing Greater, Nothing More

if i gave you my fingertips would you ask for my hand
because these gentle circles i draw on your skin
cant compare to a tight clasp in the dark
and sometimes we want to know
beyond a doubt
we are not alone

if i gave you my first words would you ask for my final words
because i can say i love you a thousand times
but isnt it sad that love never lasts
and you want to be the last one to hear the phrase
uttered from my cooling lips

if i gave you one more moment would you ask for a thousand more
we cant predict the future you say
but we have to try
we cant let hands control us that arent are own
parting ways means nothing to you

if i gave you a whisper would you ask for a shout
my secrets are precious
but i give them away so easily and i can give confidence
longing and pride
the kind you scream about
to no one but you

if i gave you one measure would you ask for a song
i would sing you to sleep and wake you up in the morning
but i would lose my voice
singing my goodbyes
and you would lose your clever face
as you heard the melodies i promised i would never write

if i gave you my hand would you ask for my body
would you worship me
would you want me to be your queen
you know i cannot be anything but what i already am
i do not
will not
cannot ever be anything greater

Leave a Reply

