I Will Not Say Goodbye

when i finally find the courage
buried deep within the ground
when i have worn my nails to the quick
and i am covered in all of the things i was supposed to throw away
but buried instead
when i find that courage i will leave and i will
only think of looking back for a moment
i wont look back

i will follow paths travelled
and not yet made
i will march on confidently
i will stumble
and i will cry out into the spaces that wont hear me
i will confess my weakness
to no one but the air

and maybe the wind will whisper she has has gone
maybe you will take that moment to believe it
in a way you never believed me
and you will think
i will return
i always do

i will leave and i will only think about turning back for a second
i will not turn back
i will cry into the nothingness
and i will not say goodbye
you will not have the luxury to know that i am leaving
only that i have left
and i will not return
like i always do

something is waiting for me out there
buried within me
and all the space outside of me
i cannot drag myself down
suffocate my own ideas
one day i will leave and i will not say goodbye

Leave a Reply

