Swimming and Drowning

my head exploded all over you
in fits of calmness and insanity
i told myself that i was careful enough
not to break
but i lie to myself more than i lie to anyone else
so naturally i didnt just crack a little
i broke into halves and
watched as you drowned in the sea of thoughts
that constantly pounds in my head

you nodded at all the right times
as i told myself to stop
but didnt
and you said the things i would expect you to say
and more because
you arent the one with voices

i sewed myself back together
carefully this time hoping it would last
i watched you even more carefully
because i had expected you to drown
and you didnt
you survived even when i couldnt

2 thoughts on “Swimming and Drowning

Leave a Reply

