Looking Forward.

I tried to look forward but I saw nothing.
Sometimes it is the
light that
blinds my human eyes
and I smile and stop
reaching for the
nothingness
because brightness means potential
and although the heat
from the light
threatens to set me on fire
the flame is all the things I have
yet to do.
And other times I look forward
to nothing but darkness.
And I close my eyes to keep them
from straining
to catch a glance from anything
in the unknown.
And so rarely is anything dark
equated to anything good
and something inside me swells and panics
and overtakes the core of myself.
It is mistakes I have not made
hate I do not yet know
it is regret about choices I have yet to make
and I stop looking forward
because now demands me.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward.

Leave a Reply

