Being Alive

I needed you
because you needed me
and that was the way things were
all the way until they weren’t.

And now I don’t need you in
the same desperate ways
and the silence tells me
that you don’t need me at all
and I will think about it
up until the day that I don’t.

Instead, let me rejoice
that the sun rose
and I took a deep breath
and although I never want to get out of bed
I did and I will
up until the day I don’t.

You are alive and that is precious.

One thought on “Being Alive

Leave a Reply

