The Pieces I Left Behind

You can feel the heat
from the things you left behind
and don’t worry
the words you never said
were not the ones I wanted to hear.
Maybe in another world you and I
would make
sense.
But that is not the world we live in.
I can feel the spaces
of the things I left behind
and don’t worry
I won’t miss all that is already gone,
it is lost in that parallel world where you
and I were
you and I.
That is not the world we live in.
At least not now.

One thought on “The Pieces I Left Behind

Leave a Reply

