The Place That is Not Here

I screamed into the middle of the night
and silence answered me,
so calm and cruel that I needed to stop screaming
so I could remember to breathe.

Could you hear me from where you were?
From the bed that is decidedly not the one I’m sleeping in?
Did you have a nightmare like I did?
Did your heart skip a couple beats like mine did?

Morning came and I drank my coffee
and I crunched on whatever food was left
and I did what was expected of me until what was expected
of me
was to go home and
then I remembered how scared I was,
how tired I am.

Did you feel tired today too?
Did you get enough sleep or did you take a nap?
Did you forget to eat lunch again?
Can I ask you these things?

I’ll fall asleep tonight and remember
why I can’t call
because you are in that bed that is decidedly not
mine
and you are not here and
I will never ask you to be.

One thought on “The Place That is Not Here

Leave a Reply

