Remember Me, Just Never Tell Me

I want you to remember me,
even when it hurts you,
even when it burns your skin,
even when it makes you want to disappear.

I want you to remember me,
even when it makes you smile,
even when it makes your eyes shine a little brighter,
even when it takes all your energy not to talk to me.

I want you to remember the
good, the
bad and the
in betweens that came to define us.

I want you to remember me when I was
15 and so stupid and
when I was 18
and still so stupid.

I want you to remember how I believed in you
and you couldn’t be that.
But I don’t care.
You were enough.

I want you to remember but I never
want you to tell me. I have done
my own remembering.
It makes me smile
and it makes me hurt
and it makes me feel
content
to have you as part of my life.
Even when I want to erase you,
I don’t mean it.

Leave a Reply

