In All of This, I Never Regret You.

Regret crawls into 
my stomach and settles itself for a long stay. 
It burrows into me and inks its words
on the inside of my veins.
My blood absorbs my mistakes, 
burning my entire body, 
effectively, 
creating a heart that is cold and on fire.
It says there are so many things
I have done wrong but through all of this
the knives and the fire, 
the ice and the dropping feeling of failure that
regret brings along,
I will never forget feeling anything for you. 
Because you are
something precious in the dark ink 
of badness. The thought of you
hurts
it does, but it hurts in a cooling way,
in a way that settles the fires and
eases the pain. 
I’ll never regret you. 

3 thoughts on “In All of This, I Never Regret You.

  1. Living with Regret | Cindy Ortiz

  2. multiple versions of regret | Reason & Existenz

Leave a Reply

