Aside: Inescapable, Decidedly Breakable.

Unescapable
I scream into the darkness, knowing
no one
is there except people with minds so closed they have even forgotten how to hear.
I push against the bars that cage me in
knowing that I am not strong enough, that this world is too strong
and that my efforts are futile
and yet, I do not stop.

Relentless
I look upwards, hoping that something unearthly
can save me from the
nothingness
that has somehow managed to trap me in oblivion.

Endlessly
I struggle until I can no longer stand
and I wilt, telling myself it isn’t weak
although it is.
No one has come.
No one will.

Leave a Reply

